Camp NaNoWriMo and everything else: a progress update

Please forgive the radio silence on the blog for the last week and a half; it’s been a bit busy!

  • As of 30 June *wipes brow* the draft of #SecretSequel is finished! It turned out a little more serious than I intended, but I’m cautiously pleased with it. I took the risk of letting my other half read each chapter as I finished it, completely raw, to see what he thought of the unfolding story. I would definitely do it again, as it was really helpful to have a reader’s reaction during the process; even if it was just ‘get on and write the next chapter’! Anyway, now the draft is complete (and pretty much on target at 27,000 words) I have rewarded it by sticking it in a drawer (well, computer file) to stew until August.
  • Camp NaNoWriMo has begun and I am in a cabin with a bunch of awesome writers who do writing sprints and amass daily totals I can only dream of. Meanwhile I am plugging away at editing A House of Mirrors.
    • I have 18 sides of A4 notes on all the things I want to check and fix.
    • I have a timeline for the novel (and it’s as well I checked all the dates because I was a year out on some of them!).
    • And now I’m double checking all the little historical bits. Did you know that the police only got whistles in the 1880s? Before then they used wooden rattles (cue another pass through the novel). I was also unaware that the black border on Victorian mourning handkerchiefs grew smaller (and often fancier) as the wearer passed through the stages of mourning. I definitely feel another Pinterest board coming on…and yes, one on mourning handkerchiefs does exist!
    • Once I’ve made sure I haven’t dropped any historical clangers, it’s on to the fixing. I’ve found 5 or 6 things which will need rewriting and consistency-checking, and to be honest I’m relieved and surprised that there aren’t more. After that, on to the cutting, beefing-up, correcting and polishing. The aim is to have something fit for beta-readers by the end of July. Gawd help ’em.
  • I have HAD AN IDEA for another book. I’m not going to say too much about it now as it is embryonic, but I can reveal that:
    • It’s set in the present day
    • Sherlock Holmes is not involved in any shape or form
    • It could turn into a series
    • I started writing a possible opening at writing group yesterday (it’s their fault, the prompt just lent itself to what I was mulling over!)

I don’t know when I’m going to fit this in. First of all I thought I could do it in the JanuWriMo event run by Fiction Writers Group. Then I thought I could move it up and do it for NaNoWriMo, instead of the project I had planned. And now I’ve kind of accidentally-on-purpose started it, I’m wondering if I can squeeze it into September/October, before NaNoWriMo. The darn thing just keeps whispering in my ear!

  • I’ve opened an Etsy shop. It’s a one-item shop at the moment, stocking the paperback edition of The Secret Notebook of Sherlock Holmes. So if you don’t do Amazon, or you’d like a signed copy for yourself or a friend/relative, pop over to https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/WhiteRhinoBooks. The rhinos will be glad to see you!

And on that note, I’d better get back to rummaging around on the internet for Victorian tidbits. See you next time, if one of the projects doesn’t finish me off first!

One thought on “Camp NaNoWriMo and everything else: a progress update

  1. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo: In the middle | Wordster

Leave a Reply

