A night at the movies: Red Carpet Blues

Guess what the theme for Ether Flash Fortnight day 4 was?

‘Movies’ is a theme I will confess to having trouble with. Firstly, since having kids I very rarely get to watch anything which isn’t a) animated, b) U-rated. By the time they’ve gone to bed and we’ve eaten, I generally don’t have enough energy left to guarantee I won’t fall asleep in the middle of a film. Plus they’re all so long these days (grumble grumble).

The other aspect of this is that one of my fellow challenge participants, Suki McMinn, is an actress, and writes wonderful backstage stories which I wouldn’t even attempt to compete with.

So, what would my angle be? Was I ready for my close-up?

I considered. What would be a dramatic moment to capture in 500 words?

Someone stealing the show.

The words ‘It should have been me’ and the title Red Carpet Blues popped into my head, and I was off! Do have a read here and let me know what you think.


The featured image is Capitol Theatre red carpet by Anastasia Kotycheva and is shared via Creative Commons license 1.0.

Leave a Reply

