Chugging along: NaNoWriMo week 2

In a week which has been eventful (to say the least), my NaNoWriMo progress has been pretty much the opposite. No peaks, no troughs, no crises of confidence. Just getting the words out.

I’ve been doing the pomodoro technique this week, which I plan to stick with as it seems to be working really well. If you haven’t heard of the pomodoro technique, it’s very simple. Set a timer for 25 minutes (tomato-shaped if you have one, but your phone will also do 😉 ), and work without interruption on the task in hand until the timer goes off. Take a short break (long enough to surf social media while waiting for the kettle to boil), then repeat. When you’ve done 4, take a longer break.

What I’ve found is that I take a while to get going, but after one or two pomodoros, things get faster. My Friday stats were 305, 449, 532, 580, (lunch), 704, 613, which is 3200ish words in two and a half hours of writing time. Wish my stats were always as good! For this reason, I decided not to try and write bits and bobs this weekend, on the grounds that I’ll probably get more done in the week when I can take a run up at it.

The concentrated bursts have also meant I have more time to do other things (send out paperbacks to beta readers, set up a Kindle Countdown Deal, obsessively check for emails from Kindle Scout, start a cover design. Etc).

But what about the actual story? I’m finding it trickier to write in 3rd person. I daresay I’m reporting my protagonist’s thoughts far more than I should be, but I just keep telling myself that I’ll fix it in the edit. The first big event has now happened, a few chapters earlier than planned, but at the 13500 mark, so more or less a quarter through 50K. The characters are working themselves up to a fine old pitch, with accusations and whatnot all over the place. A possible danger may be that what was supposed to be the subplot is threatening to draw prominence from the main plot, so that’s something to watch out for in the coming week. Especially because I suspect it’s going to get messy!

  • Word target: 16250 (cumulative)
  • Words written: 16854 (cumulative)
  • Writing days: 4
  • % complete: 34%
  • Murders: 1
  • Variations from the basic plan: 2
  • Jaffa Cakes: 3 (might need another packet)

Today’s NaNoRhino is my only moving one (he’s a wind-up rhino but his key is on the other side). I like his rather grim, getting-on-with-it expression.

2 thoughts on “Chugging along: NaNoWriMo week 2

  1. Well done you! I have veered from plan and have two attempted murders and a manslaughter and it’s a romance! On the other hand, I’m finding that my only quiet writing time is on a train. Am rather worried there’s a string of people out there saying “and there was this woman and she was writing really weird stuff about wolves/witches/music”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

