Never mind Halloween, it’s NaNoWriMo Eve!

What ghastly thing is this, shambling up the path?

AAAARGH!!! It’s NaNoWriMo!!!

Nah, I expect I’ll quite enjoy it really. Once I get started.

I’ve just been reading my blog posts about last year’s NaNoWriMo, which was my first go (if you want to do the same, just click on the NaNoWriMo tag at the top of this post). Reading them almost a year on, I was (mostly) enthusiastic, keen as mustard, and determined as heck that I was going to do it.

It isn’t that I’m not this time – I’ve been ITCHING to get started on this book. But somehow it feels a little different.

  • It won’t be the first time I’ve written 50,000 words in a month. I’ve done that twice now; once last November, once last January. So there isn’t that going-into-the-unknown-anything-could-happen feeling.
  • I’ll be out of what seems to have become my comfort zone; tales of the Holmesiverse in the late 19th century. This one is going to be modern, with cars and smartphones and satnav. That feels weird.
  • I’ll also be out of my first-person comfort zone, as third person feels more appropriate for this book.

And there’s something else again. When I started NaNoWriMo last year, I was unpublished apart from a handful of short stories and non-fiction articles. This year, I’ve published two short-story collections and a novella (you could even count The Case of the Snow-White Lady as an additional novelette), and last year’s NaNoWriMo book is currently up on Kindle Scout – if you’d like to see it, click here.

I’m not listing all that in a ‘wow, I’ve been busy’ sort of way, but in a ‘I now know a lot more about the effort that goes into making a book’ sort of way. Writing 50K in 30 days is just the beginning. And I’m pretty determined that the book I’m going to start writing tomorrow is going to be done, dusted, and published by next spring.

So I guess I’m feeling a bit less like an intrepid explorer into uncharted territory, and more like someone who’s rolling up their sleeves and preparing to get stuck into wrestling the big vicious plot bunnies.

Wish me luck. And if you’re NaNoing too, whether it’s for the first or the fifteenth time, the very best of luck to you too. May your words flow and your plots thicken. If that’s what you’re aiming for.


I made the featured image at the Flaming Text website. Not that I’m suggesting you should go over there and get distracted from NaNoWriMo. Oh no.

6 thoughts on “Never mind Halloween, it’s NaNoWriMo Eve!

  1. With you all the way. Am sure you’ll be great. This will be my second year. I spent most of yesterday (I know I know I’m behind) plotting out what I want to achieve each day. Then actually being a member of a family got in the way and I’m 10 days short. Woke up this morning trying to decide what the ultimate end for 2 of the characters will be. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Last time I was pretty sure of the beginning and the end but I had a very hazy middle. This year I’m clearer on plot elements but think I may be discovering some of the characters as I go along – it’s looking like a big ensemble cast!

      Like

      1. I know it’s bizarre isn’t it. When I started the idea there was only one romantic element (the MC’s brother’s) but now the MC has some romance too and he’s got friends and I’ve got to think of names for all of them and it’s all got a bit darker than I intended. I think I’ll just wait for the end to hijack me.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

