A Case of Identity

Notice anything different? Yes, I have had a haircut, but I meant on the blog. New name, new header.

Renaming this blog is something I’ve been thinking about for a while. When I started the blog I wasn’t sure what I would be writing about, beyond the first few posts. In the absence of a clear subject, Bitsa seemed as good a name as any. It couldn’t mislead anyone into thinking they should expect consistency of subject matter, and it didn’t tie me down to anything.

Things change. Over the last year the blog has become, as I have, more and more writing-driven, and the name Bitsa seems less appropriate for it. Some meanies with long memories could refer me back to a post I wrote a while ago, Keeping my name. However, I think it’s time to rename the blog to reflect what it is now. Let’s face it, it’s hardly Marathon v Snickers.

And there’s still room for ambiguity. The Oxford English Dictionary defines ‘wordster’ as ‘One who deals in or handles words: (a) one who indulges in talk rather than action; (b) a skilful user of words; (c) a student of words and their meanings.’ Webster is considerably less polite: ‘one that is adept in the use of words especially in an empty or bombastic manner’. It probably depends whether you catch me on a good day or not.

Anyway, I hope you stay, and enjoy the words.

One thought on “A Case of Identity

  1. Pingback: Why Bitsa? | Wordster

Leave a Reply

