The Elephant in the Room

This blog’s been a bit quiet recently. It’s not that I haven’t had things going on that I could blog about; far from it. It’s more that there’s been one big thing that I didn’t feel I could talk about, until now.

On Monday I saw a blog post which made me smile; Reach for the Stars, by Tamara Shoemaker, author and Flash! Friday regular. And after reading Tamara’s words, it seemed like a good time to talk about the elephant in the room.

I’ve resigned from my job, and next week I’ll be leaving, after 14 years in the NHS. Through seniority I’ve had a 3-month notice period to serve, and it seems to have gone on for ever. But now the end is pretty much nigh.

The scary and exciting bit is that I’m not entirely sure what I’ll be doing next. I don’t want to jump into another full-time job, and I definitely want to work more flexibly and closer to home. And I want to write, in whatever shape or form.

I’m tired of rushing to get to work, and being the last parent to pick their kids up at the end of the day. Even with flexible working, it wasn’t working. I didn’t choose my current work location; I was transferred with the rest of my team. My job changed too; half of it disappeared, and the other half expanded. I used to love my job, and suddenly it was completely different. And at about the same time I got bitten, badly bitten, by the writing bug.

In an attempt to feel better I cut my hours to 4 days a week. That only made me realise how engaged, how busy I was in the one day I was writing, compared to the 4 days at work. So I knew what I had to do, and after a fair bit of procrastinating, I handed in my notice.

It may not be for ever. I’m lucky in that I have some savings, but I certainly won’t be giving up paid work. I need to find more creative work, work that I can get excited about. I’ve been developing a project in my spare time, and once I finish work I’ll be spending more time on it. i’ve also applied for other opportunities which fit better with it. After 14 years of steady employment I’m doing my best to navigate uncharted territory, not entirely sure if I even have the map the right way up. I just hope I’m going in the right direction.


The featured image is Elephant by Lucas Santana, reproduced by permission of Creative Commons license 2.0. No changes were made.

6 thoughts on “The Elephant in the Room

      1. I know exactly what you mean. I’ve made a lot of those brave/stupid decisions. Probably more often, my decisions take the stupid route, but one can always hope they hit the brave route later on down the road. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. stuarteglin

    Hi Liz

    If the still voice deep within you is telling you that you ought to do what you have done – and the day a week you have been using for writing is so much fun – well then, it sounds to me like a wise and brave decision you have made!

    Good luck with the next exciting phase in your life – and I am always happy to have a chat writer to write if you would find that helpful.

    Stuart

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Your future awaits… | Bitsa

Leave a Reply

