Weighing in

Quite ironic that this post comes after my Easter hunt one, but this morning, first thing, I did something I’ve been meaning to do for a while.

I weighed myself.

It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t particularly good either.

Of course the scales told me what I already knew, that I’d put on quite a few pounds. When something that used to be on the loose side becomes too tight to wear comfortably, it’s hard to ignore. When you run up a hill you used to do repeats on, and once is more than enough, things aren’t good.

However, I feel better now that I know the scale (ha!) of the problem. Admittedly, there were a few more pounds showing on those scales than I had hoped for, but I know exactly why they’ve appeared. I’ve been eating like someone who runs regularly, while my exercise lately has been walking the boys to school and back, with one or maybe two walks of a few miles at weekends. I’ve run maybe once a week or every other week, no more than 3 miles at a time, because weekend early mornings have been commandeered for writing. I’ve got lazy at keeping fit, because I’ve been working quite hard at writing. And I’ve probably been lazier because I’ve lost weight before (3 stone, 4 years ago), and so, well, I’ve sort of assumed I can lose the pounds again. When I get round to it. Let’s hope I’m right.

So now I’m getting round to it. I’ve worked out my BMI (25. something), I’ve worked out a target weight, and instead of the hot cross bun I was looking forward to, I’ve had a banana for breakfast. Hey, small steps.

Today’s a significant day for another reason. I’ve taken the decision to cut my working hours to 4 days a week, and this is the first day off in my new working pattern. I have a big list of things to do, mainly writing-related, but ‘go for a run’ is there too. In fact, it’s the second item. It’s a beautiful day here, so I’m looking forward to it.

Wish me luck.


The featured image is P1800415 by Franklin Heijnen, and is shared by permission of Creative Commons license 2.0.

6 thoughts on “Weighing in

  1. I start every morning with a banana… still could do with eating more veg though and cutting down on coffee….I have switched to decaf after the first 2 now! Hope to see you at Parkrun soon then?

    Like

  2. Your post made me grin in recognition! It’s so hard to get (and keep!) the balance, isn’t it? And then along comes Christmas or Easter or someone’s birthday party – or even just an apricot Danish pastry catching your eye in the supermarket – aghhh! I did 2 hours of weeding yesterday, which surely should counterbalance the enormous portion of Shepherd’s Pie I ate last night … shouldn’t it? 😉

    Like

    1. It definitely should! I wish that shouting at the children counted as cardio…it certainly feels like it! On the positive side, I am enjoying eating more fruit and veg during the day – I was developing a sneaky crisps and biscuits habit…
      Gaynor, I’ll be back at parkrun as soon as the boys’ swimming moves from 9am on Saturdays!

      Like

Leave a Reply

