Up to something…

So, you may or may not have noticed that I’ve been a bit quiet for the last week or two. Not quite as many Twitter posts, a week off from Flash! Friday and The Angry Hourglass

When my kids are quiet, I assume that they’re up to something and investigate sharpish.

Same applies. I too have been up to something.

I have started a LARGER PROJECT.

I have got a trial version of Scrivener, which is an amazing writing programme and I just hope I can remember all the things it does.

I have folders. I have a plot summary. I have a target word count (scary). I have character sheets. I’ve drawn a map. I’ve been reading as research.

If you’re wondering what the picture above is, it’s a hot potato. That’s more or less how I feel about the work in progress. On one hand I’m juggling with it and at every touch ‘Ow!’ – another thing I hadn’t realised. But I also worry that it’ll cool off into a dispiriting lump before I’m anywhere near done. Or that I’ll handle it clumsily and end up with an explosion of scalding mash.

Despite all the complaining, though, I’m having a lot of fun writing it.

So if I’m quiet, just assume I’m up to something.


The image is by Josefine Stenudd and is shared via Creative Commons licence 2.0

 

 

9 thoughts on “Up to something…

  1. Hello! I just started following you after finding you through Twitter – I am in the Dales but also used to live in London, have also recently got Scrivener, and also did and English degree but then worked in health and social care for many years and am now trying to become a writer gradually! Thought that was quite a lot in common! Look forward to hearing how you get on with Scrivener.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weighing it up: the 3-month writing review | Bitsa

  3. Pingback: The end is nigh! What did I learn from Ether Flash Fortnight? | Bitsa

  4. Pingback: Goodbye 2014, hello 2015 | Bitsa

  5. Pingback: Jumpers for goalposts: the quarterly writing review | Bitsa

  6. Pingback: Vennsday: #amediting | Bitsa

Leave a Reply

